DUI, or driving under the influence, refers to the operation of a motor vehicle with drugs or alcohol in the body. Because getting behind the wheel of a vehicle with impaired judgement and reflexes is dangerous and life-threatening, DUI laws are accordingly strict and carry severe punishments. When a driver is pulled over, a positive test for a blood alcohol content above the legal limit will result in a DUI charge. However, any individual under the legal drinking age of 21 that is pulled over and tests positive for any amount of alcohol in the blood will be charged with an underage DUI.
Arizona’s Zero Tolerance Policy
Arizona’s drinking laws require individuals to be 21 or older to legally consume alcohol, with two exceptions. Minors may consume alcohol for religious purposes and for medical purposes; however, these exceptions do not protect minors who get behind the wheel with alcohol in their system. Arizona is a zero-tolerance state with regard to underage drinking and driving. This zero-tolerance policy means that any individual less than 21 years of age found operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content above 00.00% can be charged with a DUI.
Arizona’s Underage DUI Penalties
An individual’s first underage DUI conviction will result in a minimum jail sentence ranging from 24 hours to ten days, a fine of $1,600, and a license suspension lasting 90-360 days. A second underage DUI conviction within seven years of the first can result in a minimum of 30-90 days in jail, fines up to $2,500, and a license suspension lasting one year.
Underage DUI charges are extremely serious and can affect your child’s future for years to come. If someone in your family is facing an underage DUI charge in Pima County, please call Steven D. West, P.C. at (520) 623-4387 for experienced legal support, advice, and representation. You can find out more about DUI charges, traffic stops, and how even a simple mistake can affect your future without the right legal help on our website.